Honey and mustard: launching and dipping

Gurabie (Kosovan scones)

There were nearly 100 people in Daunt Books, Holland Park tonight.  And I’d promised all of them honeyed snacks. It was a big night for me, not just because of the catering; this was the launch of my book, Travels in Blood and Honey; becoming a beekeeper in Kosovo. We were sipping Kosovan wine (from Waitrose) and Kosovan honey raki brandy and quince brandy and grappa, but these people needed feeding.

The menu I devised was a mixture of recipes from my book (ajvar red pepper relish, mini gurabie scones, baklava) and non-Kosovan recipes with honey. The latter included pale clear acacia honey drizzled over Somerset goats cheese on baguette, and Bulgarian wildflower honey mixed with Dijon mustard for a tangy dip for sausages.

Inevitably I didn’t get to eat any of it. But I signed books until the shop ran out and I saw old friends and we promised to see each other again over lingering meals of honey and more. Tonight was just the beginning.

This entry was posted in Kosovo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

