Armenian honeyed rice pudding in the slow-cooker

IMG_0108

You may remember me mentioning my disastrous first attempt at making (burning) Armenian rice pudding for my book group. You may also remember my new craze for slow cooking. Today I decided to try my first slow-cooked Armenian rice pudding, since I am promised that this way there could be no chance of it burning.

I didn’t use my haybox, fond though I am of it – I was recently given a secondhand Cookworks slow-cooker, so the rice pudding was the first test for my new kitchen equipment.

The result? 10 points for the Armenians and 10 points for the slow-cooker. I put all the ingredients in the crockpot together and left it to click on and off unsettlingly in the corner of the kitchen. Two hours later I had a perfectly tender rice pudding. If anything, it was a little sweet (a rare criticism from me) so next time I would either reduce/ remove the sugar or/ and serve the pudding with some tart fruit like plums.

Ingredients

1.5 cup water

1 cup rice

4 cups milk

0.5 cup honey

0.25 cup sugar

Put all of these ingredients into the slow cooker and leave for two hours. At the end, stir in a teaspoon of vanilla and sprinkle half a teaspoon of cinnamon over the top.

For more honey recipes, honey tasting notes, and stories behind extraordinary honeys, see my recently published Little Book of Honey.

This entry was posted in recipe, slow-cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Armenian honeyed rice pudding in the slow-cooker

  1. nom nom! can’t wait to give it a try! xxx

Leave a Reply

