Banana and honey bread

close up of banana bread crumb and crust

Belvoir thinks I'm lovely, do you?

Love food, hate waste? Love food, hate bananas blackening in the fruit bowl? Rob went to throw the bananas out today and I swore to him that I was going to make banana bread with them. He sighed, because he knows about my waste-not-want-not cooking: the piles of butter wrappers stacked up in the fridge – like unfulfilled promises of cake – because they are so useful for buttering a tin, and the glasses of egg white saved from when egg yolk’s been needed in a recipe, with which I promise to make meringue.

But today I did it! And for the first time, I made banana bread with honey, adapting a recipe I found online at Lick My Spoon. I had to adapt because it called for apparently exotic things like oats which are really difficult to find in Kosovo (I substituted a muesli made with mixed oats, barley, puffed rice, sunflower seeds, and raisins. I had contemplated picking out everything but the oats but life is too short) and self-raising flour which is impossible to find here (though ever so easy to improvise – I just added 4 teaspoons of baking powder, or one and a third packets, for those living in the former Yugoslavia where it’s impossible to buy baking powder in any quantity other than a cute little sachet containing 3 teaspoonfuls).

The texture that resulted is fantastic, which I think is because of the shredded coconut. I used a non-standard loaf tin but the final product was so huge that although I will no doubt eat and love it all, in future I would halve the quantities.

But then what would I do with the other blackened banana?

My book, Travels in Blood and Honey; becoming a beekeeper in Kosovo came out this summer with Signal Books. Gift packs of signed or inscribed copies of the book, with a Kosovan crafted honey drizzler, are also available through me.

This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana and honey bread

  1. Pingback: Macadamia nut blossom honey | One hundred days of honey

  2. Pingback: The ten best recipes to make with honey? | One hundred days of honey

Leave a Reply

