An ex-pat’s treat: English Larinka Apiary Honey

I was given a pot of this fabulous honey by my sister who shops at Karin Lauritzen’s stall at the Farmers’ Market in Haslemere. That’s a long way from Kosovo, and it was nice to take a little piece of Southern England back with me. I can stick the clock at half past three (half past four continental European time, of course) and there can be honey still for tea, as if there weren’t in fact thousands of miles between my toaster in Pristina and my sister’s local market in Surrey.

Homesickness is the only kind of sickness you’ll be liable to with this honey – its English country garden tastes are soft and delicious. It’s gently buttery; I think Karin’s bees may forage on clover. There’s a light citrus taste too, which I’d liken to orange blossom, except that I’m not such an expat as to have forgotten that oranges don’t flower much in Surrey. The aftertaste has a more definite tang to it, with forest fruits notes; perhaps it’s less whimsical to imagine the bees buzzing around brambles.  The combination is great, making me pause and smile with drizzler in hand, like the best honeys do.

Elizabeth Gowing is the author of Travels in Blood and Honey; becoming a beekeeper in Kosovo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An ex-pat’s treat: English Larinka Apiary Honey

  1. Pingback: The ten best honeys in the world? | One hundred days of honey

Leave a Reply

